This Edwards Lifesciences recall alert is narrow and specific: the US FDA has named four lots of Commander M delivery systems, used with the SAPIEN M3 transcatheter mitral valve replacement system, that should not be used. The affected lot numbers are 67718561, 67804014, 67887043 and 67887044. Edwards has reported three balloon ruptures during inflation, linked as of 5 October to one death and one serious injury. The FDA published the notice on 15 October 2026 as an FDA Early Alert and states that other lot numbers are not affected.
Edwards Lifesciences recall: the four affected lot numbers to check
- Product: Commander M delivery system, used with the SAPIEN M3 system.
- Lot 67718561
- Lot 67804014
- Lot 67887043
- Lot 67887044
- FDA instruction: do not use the identified affected products. Other lots are not included in the alert.
Edwards Lifesciences recall: key takeaways
- Trigger: three reports of balloons bursting during inflation.
- Harm reported as of 5 October: one death and one serious injury.
- Possible consequences listed by the FDA: embolism, and being unable to retrieve the device through the guide sheath, either of which may require further intervention including surgery.
- Status: an Early Alert for a potentially high-risk issue; the FDA has not stated a recall class.
- Scope: four lots only. This is not an alert on all SAPIEN M3 systems or all Commander M delivery systems.
What the FDA said about the Edwards Lifesciences recall
The FDA’s device centre issued the notice to warn the public of what it calls a potentially high-risk device issue, and it says it will update the page as significant new information becomes available. The agency attributes the underlying reports to the manufacturer: Edwards told the FDA of three instances of balloons rupturing during inflation. The FDA notes that the patients treated with this technology are deemed unsuitable for surgery, so any intervention needed after a failure carries a high risk of serious harm, including death. The page does not give the number of devices distributed, the device identifiers or the distribution dates.
What Edwards told customers about the Edwards Lifesciences recall
According to the FDA, Edwards sent a letter to affected customers on 5 October 2026. The letter asks sites to share the notice with appropriate clinical staff, to search their inventory for the affected product and remove it, and to work with an Edwards representative to return the impacted units. Those are the manufacturer’s instructions, relayed by the agency, rather than separate FDA requirements. For US customers, the FDA lists the Edwards contact as 1-800-424-3278 or CustomerServ_TMTT@edwards.com.
Why a delivery-system fault matters in mitral replacement
The Commander M is the catheter-based system that carries the replacement valve to the heart through blood vessels, avoiding open-chest surgery. A balloon is used in the process, and a balloon that bursts during inflation can disrupt the procedure. The FDA names embolism and retrieval problems as the potential injuries. Because patients in this field are generally those a heart team has judged unsuitable for surgery, a failed device can leave few fallback options. That reasoning is the FDA’s own and explains the strength of the agency’s wording.
Which products the Edwards Lifesciences recall does not cover
The alert is limited to the four lot numbers above, and the FDA says units with other lot numbers are not impacted and can continue to be used. We therefore make no claim about the broader SAPIEN M3 programme or other Commander M units. Clinicians and sites should compare the printed lot number on each unit with the list rather than rely on a product name alone.
Background on SAPIEN M3
SAPIEN M3 was approved by the FDA in December 2025, and Edwards’ approval announcement of 23 December 2025 describes it as the first transseptal transcatheter therapy approved in the United States for mitral regurgitation. Edwards says the approval covers patients with symptomatic moderate-to-severe or severe mitral regurgitation, and certain patients with mitral valve dysfunction linked to annular calcification, who a heart team judges unsuitable for surgery or edge-to-edge repair. Edwards reports that its pivotal ENCIRCLE trial met all primary and secondary endpoints in its main cohort of 299 patients; that is the company’s claim, and it concerns the valve system, not the delivery lots now flagged.
What hospitals and clinicians should do
The FDA’s instruction is plain: do not use the identified affected products. Beyond that, sites can follow the steps in Edwards’ letter and contact the company. The FDA invites health professionals and consumers to report adverse events through MedWatch. Patients who have had a transcatheter mitral procedure should speak with their heart team if they have questions about their own treatment; this article cannot assess any individual case.
What the Edwards Lifesciences recall alert has not disclosed
Several points are open. The FDA has not classified the action, and the page gives no count of devices made or shipped, no distribution window and no device identifiers. It does not say whether the three rupture reports came from the four lots in combination or how the reports map to individual lots. We have not covered any financial effect on the company, because neither the FDA page nor Edwards’ materials we reviewed address it.
Risks and caveats on the Edwards Lifesciences recall
- Figures are as of 5 October and may change as the FDA updates the page.
- The harm count comes from manufacturer reports to the FDA.
- The alert is not a recall classification.
- This is news reporting and not medical advice.
In our assessment, the most useful reading of this Edwards Lifesciences recall is operational: four named lots, one clear FDA instruction and a manufacturer return process, with no basis in the published material for wider alarm about the SAPIEN M3 system. See also FDA Classifies AVID Medical IV Start Kit Lot 1658437 Recall as Class I Over Fungal Contamination Risk for another recent device alert. More in our medical device coverage and in the FDA’s list of recalls and early alerts.
What to watch next on the Edwards Lifesciences recall
- An FDA update, including any recall classification.
- Any addition of lots to the alert.
- Further detail from Edwards on the affected units.
- Any additional adverse-event reports.
Frequently asked questions
Which lots does the Edwards Lifesciences recall cover?
Commander M delivery systems in lots 67718561, 67804014, 67887043 and 67887044.
Are all SAPIEN M3 systems affected?
No. The FDA says other lot numbers are not impacted.
What happened?
Edwards reported three balloon ruptures during inflation, with one death and one serious injury as of 5 October.
Is this a Class I recall?
The FDA has not stated a recall class in the Early Alert.
How we reported this: we relied on the FDA Early Alert dated 15 October 2026 and Edwards’ announcement of the SAPIEN M3 approval. Last updated: 16 October 2026. This article is news reporting and not medical advice.

